PDA

View Full Version : 2007 Lifan Enduro engine question

Aj1
09-20-2012, 10:01 AM
Hey all, i'm new here but i have a question. I recently came across a 2007 Lifan GY-5 i believe its called for sale. The person selling it said when he got it out this year the engine was siezed and won't turn over. Presumably from sitting and not being winterized. ( I'm in Michigan) In any case is this something that is a real possibility? Or I was thinking that possibly that maybe the starter/bendix has just locked up? Any thoughts are appreciated!! BTW I am a very experienced mechanic and have no problems making repairs. Just don't have alot of knowledge about these bikes/engines. Thanks!

FastDoc
09-20-2012, 11:34 AM
I've never heard of one of these 'sieze' per se but if it was run out of oil or run way to lean it could have happened...

On the other hand a lot of people don't know what they are talking about and use incorrect terminology.

Take a look at it.

If the motor is siezed it can be semi easy/cheap to replace or repair but I'd consider it a parts bike with a value not over a couple hundred bucks, IF it has a title.

katoranger
09-20-2012, 12:45 PM
Possible to rings rusted to the cylinder. Also the petcock may have leaked and filled the crankcase with gas.

Put it in gear and rock it a few times. It may free up. Don't try to force the kickstarter.

Aj1
09-20-2012, 11:13 PM