PDA

View Full Version : I am torn... help me decide.

Nate
08-10-2007, 03:56 PM
I am new to all of this motorcycle stuff and I am wondering if I should go with a chinabike. Maybe you guys can help me.

Right now I own a moped. It's just a muck-around thing, but riding it around is dangerous because it's not able to keep up with traffic. If all I wanted to do was tool around my neighborhood this wouldn't be a problem, but I like to ride it to work and such when I can. So 200cc is going to be much better for me then my current 62cc.

Plus I like to muck around with mechanical things, doing mods and such. On cars it's much to expensive, but with motorcycles it's seems that it's usually do-able and I get to be more creative. Trouble is that I am currently pretty damn poor and it's going to be like this for a while.

Soo...

What I'd like to do is find a cheap dual sport bike and make it more streetable. I like the idea of having a 'SUV' or 'Adventure' sort of bike and not have to worry about trashing it by the occasional trail ride or dumping it in a alleyway. I also like a upright posture... I can get stuff like a honda rebel for around the same price as a Lifan or whatnot, but I don't like the idea of having my feet sticking out in front of me. I like the occasional sporty cornering also.

My idea is to take these things, change out the sprocket and make the gearing a bit taller and then make a small windscreen for it. Plus modify the seat (make it wider, better foam materal, etc) and such.

If I was to do that do you think that these 200cc's would be enough to carry me around at a extended cruising speed of 50 or so with occasional acceleration up to 65-70 (to meet traffic demands)? (country highway speeds around here are 60mph. I have no intention of taking it on anything with a faster speed limit. I am not so much worried about comfort, I just don't want to rag the engine out by overloading it.