PDA

View Full Version : hello too all. lifan 2006 or 2007 200 gy-5????????

cajones
08-16-2007, 05:00 PM
First off hi too all here.

I am new to the china bike thing and need to get an idea of a few things. I am assuming that the best supported china bikes are american lifan. Is this a correct assumption????

Now for the next question.... What are the differences in the lifan 2006 and the 2007 models? not interested in the plastic, color ect. more so the nuts and bolts. is there a significant reason that I should avoid the 2006? I ask this because I was on the phone with american lifan and they suggested that I not buy the 06. but the 07 was better. are they just trying too upsell this china bike newbie? any advice?

thanks
pleasure too meet you all.
CaJones

NewEnglandTrails
08-16-2007, 07:08 PM
Cajones,

Welcome aboard,,

In the course of introducing oneself.... we are often curious where you are from.. It could make a difference in the cycle you select.. and the advice we can give.... as well as what you can actually buy.. Please share with us so we can better inform you.. If you want to make your bike street legal its a 50 state toss up.. If you have an American Lifan dealer close by I would imagine that some of your questions would already be answered..... If not then your gonna get a crate delivered to your house. Either way you will get more bang for your buck than you would at a typical Motorcycle dealership. Typically American Lifan will not drop ship a bike in a crate..

Best of Luck.....

NET

katoranger
08-16-2007, 10:20 PM
Welcome. The nuts and bolts differences are covered in the Dual Sport area. Big ones are 07 has a balance shaft engine and reverted to a rear drum brake.

I just rode mine nearly 300 miles today.

Allen

AZ200cc
08-17-2007, 12:01 AM
Welcome :D

I can't help much, As I do not own a Lifan....Sorry.

cajones
08-17-2007, 11:07 AM