PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone tried linking the brake system?

Skin Mechanic
06-29-2017, 12:43 PM
The little monster's rear master cylinder is a joke. I pressure bled the system and the braking is still almost non-existent. I have a 16mm front master cylinder sourced from an old Ducati 916 that should be big enough for both the front and rear calipers. The only thing I need is an adjustable proportioning valve and a coupla banjo fittings. I'm thinking a 70/30 front/rear bias would give me better braking without having to worry about fishtailing if I lock the brakes up.

prismways
06-29-2017, 04:42 PM
Interesting, I haven't actually tested the quality of the rear brake on it's own. Are you saying you're not able to slow down or stop at all?

I've never replaced a whole brake system so interested to see how you would do it.

The little monster's rear master cylinder is a joke. I pressure bled the system and the braking is still almost non-existent. I have a 16mm front master cylinder sourced from an old Ducati 916 that should be big enough for both the front and rear calipers. The only thing I need is an adjustable proportioning valve and a coupla banjo fittings. I'm thinking a 70/30 front/rear bias would give me better braking without having to worry about fishtailing if I lock the brakes up.

Skin Mechanic
06-29-2017, 08:03 PM
Interesting, I haven't actually tested the quality of the rear brake on it's own. Are you saying you're not able to slow down or stop at all?

I've never replaced a whole brake system so interested to see how you would do it.

If I had to panic brake using the rear brake I would probably jump off the bike to avoid impact :lol: It should be a straight forward mod; The master cylinder is fitted with 2 brake lines. One brake line goes straight to the front caliper, the other goes into the proportioning valve with a third line connecting it to the rear caliper.