PDA

View Full Version : Viva VX250 first ride review

joeg
12-18-2007, 10:57 AM
Long Post, but I hope this helps those deciding to buy one of these bikes. - Ok, first real ride was yesterday after work. I live in the far west side on Lancaster (Antelope Acres), backyard is the open desert; elevation is 2525 at my ranch. I'm 43 years old, 5-8, 220 lbs – (Beer!) I’ve been riding and racing MX and AMA District 37 for 25 years or so, Owned many bikes. Dropped major cash over the years in suspension upgrades, steering dampers and all the aftermarket goodies. Maintained all of my bikes in top race condition. Stopped riding a few years ago to take care of my ailing father who recently passed. :cry: Did not want to drop 7K for a new scoot, so I took a chance on a China bike. We bought two last weekend. Bike is bone stock, brand new. Motor runs real good, crisp throttle, jetting is close for 2500 ft elevation. Rear spring was way too tight, complete stinkbug status! Spun the nut one turn on the rear spring and it started feeling a bit better. Still need both springs broke-in before I can set sag correctly. So away we go - a mile from the house I lost one front caliper bolt, this is my fault, I think I overlooked tightening it! DOH! Completely my fault.