PDA

View Full Version : Hawk has arrived, getting anxious

egglocsta
04-12-2018, 03:04 PM
Well I am a newbie here but I am so glad I found this place! Against my better judgement I went with a Hawk from Motobuys.com, I was a little hesitant after some of the reviews. It came in 4 days, no damage at all :clap: , it has been a week and a half now so I am praying the MSO makes its way to me without any hassle because so far the experience has been excellent.

Assembly went fairly smooth, it was actually more put together than I thought it would have been. I did however immediately drop the back tire to check the stock sprocket and as stated here, there was a ton of play (a ton may be an exaggeration but enough to make me uncomfortable). I ordered the suggested JT sprocket from Amazon, installed it and now there is ZERO play! I'm still in the process of applying locktite to everything.

Here's the kicker though, I haven't fired it up yet. I refuse to until my NGK plug gets delivered, which I just got notification has happened!!! Fingers crossed the start up goes smooth! Here is a pre-assembly and post assembly picture.

JerryHawk250
04-12-2018, 03:29 PM
Welcome aboard. :hi: Bike looks great :tup: I take it you read all the suggestion before you start it up. One other suggestion. Don't start it up in your garage. People will think your house is on fire from all the smoke. lol

egglocsta
04-12-2018, 03:42 PM
Haha! Thanks for the advice! Yes I definitely did my research and checked out all the suggestions on chinariders before I even attempt to fire it up. Now if the weather here in Wisconsin would make up its mind I might be able to take it for a quick spin. Nothing like 50 degrees one day and the possibility of up to 10" of snow the next!

Megadan
04-12-2018, 04:18 PM