PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Illinois

Scottish
06-08-2019, 11:21 AM
Hi all,
I have been lurking on here for a few weeks. I have been kicking around getting a Hawk or Taotao dual sport bike and found this site after watching a few videos from motocheese. I have been riding dirt bikes for about 40 years and have been racing and wrenching on vintage bike for 20 years.
I have been looking at getting one of these so I could do some dual sport rides here and in Wisconsin which are mainly off road. I realize the limitations of these bikes but I don,t plan on riding it in race mode and I,m a cheap son of gun so I don,t want to spend the big money on a ktm or even a bit less for a DRZ just to ride it a few times a year. The TT and DR200 are at least 1500-2000 more and about impossible to find around here. I will be asking a few questions on the main board before I decide what I want to do. :thanks:

herbie
06-08-2019, 02:20 PM
Hello Scottish and welcome, I am from lower Illinois and probably pretty close to the same age. I think most if us are cheap uh I mean frugal that’s why I bought one of these Chinese machines. They seem to be better quality than what I thought but I don’t have my bike yet. Should be in my hands on Monday. Good luck with your search!

dpl096
06-08-2019, 09:00 PM
Hello from East Central Hellinois Scottish and welcome aboard. Ask all the questions you want and enjoy the company.

GronkFries
06-09-2019, 08:15 AM
Welcome from Maine - I lurked and putzed around before I bought my bike as well. Alcohol and Motocheez assisted my decision lol. Ended up with a TBR7, which so far I'm happy with but not enough miles to tell for sure. I never offroaded on two wheels before, just getting used to it.

And "cheap" is not the proper definition for us IMHO - It's "tightwad". So if you're handy with a wrench either either a Hawk or Tao Tao will be enough of a bike for you to make up the difference for a brand name comparison.

Scottish
06-09-2019, 11:08 AM