PDA

View Full Version : A Noob's Journey to Fix His BD125-11 (STILL BROKE)

durtyrice
01-13-2020, 07:00 PM
Hello all,

Figured I would just compile my journey into one thread. Hopefully, this will help a future noob out so he doesn't have to do 20+ hours of wasted research and 20+ hours of tinkering! At this point I'm still not able to get it to ride, but the journey is close. REALLL close.

Okay, so I bought a used BD125-11 (ninja clone) with 300 miles on it on December 26. I have no motorcycle experience whatsoever, and my tool proficiency is questionable at best. BUT, I've learned a lot. This forum has helped a lot. I've lost a ton of screws, nuts, 10mm sockets, my sanity etc. but I still have a few days of tinkering left in me. I've always wanted to own a motorcycle and here's my chance * (I work 12-13 hours a day, 7 days a week and my garage doesn't have any light so I've been trying to fix this #### every single night since the 26th with a cell phone light in one hand and tool in the other) ANYWAYS let's begin.

The day after I bought the bike I was riding it around the neighborhood and it would often just sputter and stall at random times. The next day, the motorcycle wouldn't start at all. After doing some research, many people suggested an upgrade to a Mikuni carb for performance and for the fuel/air screw and idle screw.

https://www.amazon.com/VM22-26mm-Carburetor-Carb-CRF70/dp/B07HNW4QC6/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=mikuni+carb&qid=1578957164&sr=8-4

Okay, great. So I get it installed. I'm hit with some confusion. The stock intake manifold has a nipple with a hose going to it.. but the Mikuni intake manifold does not.

https://i345.photobucket.com/albums/p392/dkimoh1/EGR%20SILVER%20BOX_zpsqv2vpmi4.jpg (https://s345.photobucket.com/user/dkimoh1/media/EGR%20SILVER%20BOX_zpsqv2vpmi4.jpg.html)