PDA

View Full Version : ahhh i need help with my chain

idcountryboy1
04-10-2008, 11:45 PM
holy crap i broke the chain cuase i am one of the guys that rides his bike to hard and i have no knowledge on chains can you please help i have a db27

ChiGongJitsu
04-11-2008, 02:59 PM
what specifically do you need help with?

culcune
04-11-2008, 03:45 PM
They don't cost too much for replacements at the local shop. Make sure you get a new master link for it, too. You should just take the old one in to get the correct size links, and I would guess its model number is 428

katoranger
04-11-2008, 04:13 PM
You chain will either be a 428 or a 520 since you have the 250cc.

Make sure it isn't too tight. You can buy chains at most motorcycle shops and master links.

Allen

TeamCheap
04-11-2008, 05:38 PM
So it just broke.....can you see the masterlink on the chain or did it come apart at the masterlink.
If you just lost the master link then just go buy one or if you dont really care about the bike just go buy a master link and run it till it breaks again.

If the chain is worn out then so are the sprockets and they will need to be replaced as well.

if you simply broke the chain and the sprockets are still like new then just buy a correct size chain of better quality and install it.

I myself would almost NEVER just replace a chain alone unless there was a reason for it to have failed, usually(most always) you have do the chain and sprockets as a set or else the worn sprockets will start to mess up the new chain.

I personally think there is more wrong with the bike but then again I cant actually look at it to tell for sure. :lol:

idcountryboy1
04-11-2008, 07:58 PM
it broke at the master link and i know it is a 428 but i need the link number how many cause i want o buy it online and do i need any tools or anything to fix it

idcountryboy1
04-11-2008, 08:04 PM