PDA

View Full Version : 2018 Hellcat carb and engine question

DoctorTokyo
04-30-2021, 12:19 AM
Hello! Sorry in advance for any formatting issues or other post errors. I have never used a forum before but I have been lurking here for quite some time!

I have a 2018 Taotao Hellcat 125 and, following some minor issues, I replaced the carb once riding season came back for me this week. I got one of the vm22 26mm knockoffs (not knowing it there was a difference at the time of purchase), took off the airbox, and used it to upgrade the stock carb. I have a strange issue where when I give it throttle, there is a very airy sound accompanied by a loss of power. It sounds almost like a small steam engine.

I thought it was very lean, so I tried several larger jets and various turns on the mixture screw. It seemed to get better, but I am currently at the largest jet I have (125 from an amazon kit) and the mixture screw is as far out as I'm comfortable with. It still sounds airy and loses power between 1/4 and 1/2 throttle. I'm not sure where to go from here.

While upgrading the carb earlier this week, I also had a portion of a tube fall off of my bike. It came from the very back of the engine, but I'm not sure where the other side is supposed to go. I looked at several videos of hellcats and similar bikes but none have been clear enough to show me what it's supposed to connect to. Could this be the source of my carburation issue? It's a tube with a little clamp that's come from the rear of the engine, near the rear shock.

Thanks in advance for reading this all and hopefully someone knows what's up!

grumpyunk
04-30-2021, 10:17 AM
Save 1000 words and post a few pics. Of the mounted carb, in place, and of the part that fell off.
tom

DoctorTokyo
04-30-2021, 07:09 PM