PDA

View Full Version : Confirmation that Venom Ghost is running lean

ghostsNghouls
08-11-2021, 06:12 PM
Just received a Ghost about a month ago. I am exactly at 10ft above sea level and the weather is usually 85 degrees with enough humidity to drop a bead of sweat down your back the first two steps from leaving the front door. Upon getting the Ghost, I have lubed the chain and cables, sprayed the brake cleaner for brakes, changed the sprocket, replaced the POS battery(More of a problem than I intended), placed a 105 main jet, and turned the pilot screw 1 1/2 out from seated.

I am a complete newbie to the motorcycle world. MSF course is this weekend. I do know how manual engines work and have driven manuals for years. I know that motorcycles are a completely different set of muscle memory and I have yet to develop it. As of now, after failing to seal and fit the carb the first two times, I managed to re-install the stock PZ30 correctly. At first, it struggled to start and stay on. I turned to idle speed up a bit to compensate, which it eventually smoothened out after the engine was properly warmed(5 min at idle). From there, I went for a short spin in the cul-de-sac(starting small with the practicing). After two figure-8s, I practiced my friction zone stop starts which I then stalled. Thinking to myself, what a NOOB! Flipped the switch, pulled the clutch in, started the engine again, slowly and evenly releasing the clutch and stalled again.

To spare you all in dragging on any longer, the bike starts and idles ok. It just stalls every time. I have practiced figure-8s and stop/starts before the carb adjustments just fine. Am I for sure running too lean? Not enough gas to power when the engine is engaged.

Please let me know your wisdom and experience.

JerryHawk250
08-12-2021, 09:10 AM