PDA

View Full Version : BD125-8 Lil Duc Experience and brake pad questions

Jackof53trades
11-17-2022, 06:47 PM
Hi everybody,

Sorry, this will be a bit of a rant at first. Detailing my experience so far.

TLDR: I think this bike is bad, but I'll stick with it for now. Does anybody have recommendations for front brake pads?

I got my lil duc (mini monster) last month as a training tool for my big bikes. I put 115 miles on it so far: a couple of miles around town to break it in, 2 canyon runs and 1.5 trackdays. The first trackday was fun. I wanted a baseline before I put parts on and was scraping footpegs absolutely everywhere. The second was cut short by my leaking fuel tank.

I'm a reasonably competent mechanic and I've worked on my actual Ducati 848 ,refreshed my Ninja 650 and plenty of cars. That said, this bike is the worst thing I've had the displeasure to work on. I expected to work on it but this was worse than expected.

The ride to wrench ratio is appalling. It's sitting in the garage disassembled right now because the gas tank is leaking and Kronik racing won't respond to me about it. Patiently waiting before I just go get gas for my TIG welder and fix it myself; like everything else on this thing.

Issues and gripes that I've already ran into in its short life.
-Engine mount bolt sheared. I actually measured them to be 120mm and 150mm. Making my 110mm bolts too short.
-Many bolts stripping on first removal.
-The shock disassembled itself on a ride. The shaft un-threaded from the top eyelet.
-Sloppiest shifter in the world. Constant misshifts. Linkage from new rearsets was also not good. Currently fabricating my own shifter for GP shift.
-No grease in front forks at all, leading to alot of stiction.
-No grease in any pivot points. Swingarm, Front/rear axles. Evidence of wear already.