PDA

View Full Version : Buying a scooter

V-rock
09-04-2008, 08:52 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm looking for a scooter for my wife and found the Chinese scooters at 1/2 the price as the Korean or Japanese which makes it very attractive.

I'm an auto technician and my main transportation is a motorcycle which I ride no mater the weather. Getting my hands dirty on a two wheeler don't scare me.

My biggest concern is finding a reputable on line dealer. When you walk into a store and talking to a salesperson you may have an impression of how they conduct business, plus there is a physical place you can go back if you have any problem.

By looking at an Internet seller only tells me how good their web designer is, it is impossible to determine even if it is located in the US!

My dilemma right now is:

1 - Pay more money + dealer fees for a place I can look at the scooter before I buy it and take it back if there is any problem
2 - Get a cheaper scooter on line and hope to get minimum problems with the shipping and delivery, also I know I'm on my own on the warranty

I know the you get what you pay for, I know I can deal with the mechanical problems and there are a lot of honest people trying to operate a business, but there are also a lot of crooks that set up a nice web site and they only concern is to separate me from my money.

How can I determine how reliable a dealer is?

fufu2wheel
09-04-2008, 10:07 PM
If you have made up your mind to purchase scooter from internet retailer, be prepared to work on the scooter yourself. These machines are not difficult to work on, but do require proper tools, some common mechanical knowledge and patience to diagnose and solve the problems that you may encounter.

If you purchase a scooter on-line, your local retailers are likely to refuse to work on your scooter or "look down" on your machine.

V-rock
09-04-2008, 10:43 PM