PDA

View Full Version : Where were you in 1962?

katoranger
11-14-2008, 02:11 PM
This is an email from my Dad.

HELLO---GUESS WHO??? HE WAS SERVING IN KOREA... I HEARD THAT I AM A VETERAN. WE HAD A MISSILE BATTALION THA INTENDED TO KEEP S. KOREA PROTECTED FROM COMMUNIST N. KOREA. THE DMZ WAS A DANGEROUS BORDER. NO IMMIGRANTS CROSSED THAT BORDER UNLESS THEY WANT TO BE DEAD.

I DROVE JEEPS AND TRUCK IN ALONG THE DMZ. THERE WERE SOME OCCASIONAL AMBUSHES. OTHERWISE THE DUTY WAS FUN DRIVING THE MOUNTAIN ROADS IN KOREA. I HAVE MANY OLD PHOTOS OF KOREA TRAVELS, EVENTS, ACTIVITIES. IT WOULD BE A LONG SLIDE SHOW.

1963 OF OCTOBER I WAS DISCHARGED; WENT HOME; AND SOON AFTER PRES. JFK WAS ASSASINATED IN DALLAS TX. I REMEBER WELL THE DAY IT HAPPENEND. 1961 THE CUBAN MISSISLE CRISIS OCCURRED, AND THE BERLIN CRISIS OCCURRED. IT DID NOT SEEM STRESSFUL TO ME AT THE TIME. BUT IT WAS A SERIOUS TIME FOR USA. MANY USA FOLKS DON'T APPRECIATE THE JOB OF PROCTECTING THEM. THERE MANY DOING THAT FOR THEM. WE HAVE MANY IN THE FAMILY WHO ARE CURRENTLY VETERANS. AND WHO HAVE BEEN IN ACTIVE DUTY. CURRENTLY LANCE IS VERY ACTIVE AND WAS ACTIVE IN IRAQ DESERT STORM TIME.

http://www.chinariders.net/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=10362&g2_serialNumber=1

elroyjetsn
11-14-2008, 04:26 PM
In 62' i was an adventurous 3rd grader hoping some day to be big enough to drive a gokart. :)

Hmm, still waiting... :lol:

lego1970
11-14-2008, 07:09 PM
In 62 I was in my Dad's pants about to become my older sister. I didn't enter the world until 1970. Despite the fact that I'm a product of just a good time with my Mom, Dad's are pretty cool. My parents have always been there for me. Likewise I try my hardest to be the best Dad I can to my son. It's wild how my son looks at me like I'm the greatest.....If only he knew. That's a neat e-mail.

katoranger
11-14-2008, 07:24 PM
My Dad was 20 in that picture. He has 100s of them from Korea. He was there right after the Korean conflict ended.