PDA

View Full Version : Caution: do not drink wine before riding..

mdsuave13
02-17-2007, 12:50 PM
hey all... so i got my bike yesterday, 10 degrees outside uncrating it. Not a single spec of damage.. so far so good.

I didn't take any pics, because it was colder then hell, and i was trying to get it in the house.

So after a couple tries i got the bike in the house, on the HF atv jack, and strapped her down. I was marveling at all of its chinabike glory when i noticed this:

All of the plastics are clear coated, the stickers are UNDER the clear.... so i cannot take them off, even the stupid 5 on the headlight and the lil yellow transformers logo on the front fender...

So that brings me to my next idea. I am going to sand all of the plastics and paint them flat black.. I dont think it will be that big of a deal.

Also... other question:

how much oil do i need to purchase to do my oil change (gotta love how the skidplate hole doesnt line up with the drain plug....)

I'm sure i'll have more questions, unfortunetly i wont be able to really start work on it till sunday.

ambassador
02-17-2007, 02:16 PM
Glad to hear you got your bike!!! The stickers come right off, just go around them with an exacto knife or a razor lightly and peel up the edge and they will come right off.. You can wet sand the clear coat and feather it in and put clear coat over it or you can sand the whole thing and paint it like I did..
You will need a little more than 1 quart of oil to fill it, I used Rotella 15w-30, I bought a gallon of it for future changes until I switch to Mobil 1...
Looking forward to some pics...

mdsuave13
02-17-2007, 06:54 PM
awesome, i think i may just flat black all the red.. we'll see how it goes... im sure im going to have a bunch more questions about things..

ambassador
02-17-2007, 10:31 PM