ChinaRiders Forums

ChinaRiders Forums (http://www.chinariders.net/index.php)
-   Dual Sport/Enduro (http://www.chinariders.net/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   hawk 250 front wheel noise (http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=15574)

hnu13 11-27-2015 01:14 AM

hawk 250 front wheel noise

anyone ever experience a dragging type noise coming front the front wheel???
it happens running or not.. very hard to describe, . kind of sounds like a cars power steering pump whining on full lock?????? but I'm new to motorcycles, so
I'm not sure what sounds are normal, and which aren't...
any ideas????

Adjuster 11-27-2015 03:02 PM

Can you get us a video with sound?

/

Adjuster 11-27-2015 03:04 PM

Get the front wheel off the ground and spin it by hand. Try to 'feel' where the noise is coming from. You will immediately be able to tell if the brakes are dragging. And you should be able to feel any problems with the bearings.

/

Mudflap 11-27-2015 03:19 PM

Also have a listen to the speedo drive. Could be installed improperly.

2LZ 11-27-2015 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mudflap (Post 199070)
Also have a listen to the speedo drive. Could be installed improperly.

Or bone dry. I'm not sure about the newer CB's but the older ones had no lube, made your speedo do wacky things and snapped in short order. Good call Mudflap. I'll bet that's it.

sevndaythry 12-02-2015 08:51 PM

We are almost positive that the noise is coming from the brakes the brake calipers themselves wiggle on the slide pins. The bike stops fine it just makes noise every now and then, both on the front and the rear. No real rhyme or reason why it's happening. Any experience someone can contribute?

Adjuster 12-03-2015 03:20 AM