Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pit/Pocket Bikes & Scooters
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-19-2022, 08:38 PM   #1

Boom vader dieing after riding please help

So i bought a boom vader around 2 months back and havent had the best experience. Out the box i changed the oil, carb, and sprocket. I didnt clean the gas tank or replace the fuel line (I will probable replace fuel line soon).
Problem is, the bike starts when it feels like it and on a good day itll drive for like 30 minutes, then starts jerking, dieing and not starting anymore. then a few minutes later it might start again for like 5 minutes. I already replaced the battery and spark plug. the spark plug got dark as hell for 50 miles. Im new to bikes and carbs so if someone could please help id appreciate it a lot.

Old 09-19-2022, 09:26 PM   #2

Check the valve clearances. You want approximately .06 - .07 mm, or .0025" - .003". Exhaust valves always run a little hotter than intake, so if anything they should have a larger gap. Chinese bikes are notorious for having valve clearances too tight from the factory, causing overheating of the head.

Edit: Overall I agree with 4T_Goblin's post below. Intake .003"/.08 mm. Exhaust I'd go with .004"/.10 mm. These are the recommendations for Lifan's new KPX. Before the KPX they said .06 mm for both valves on the X-pect for instance, and you would often find them from the factory much tighter than that even, like .02 mm, and require immediate adjustment. Finally they are getting their act together with valve clearances. Any time you get your hands on a Chinese bike, check valve clearance so you have a baseline for troubleshooting.