Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Adventure Bikes > Zongshen RX3
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-09-2022, 11:31 AM   #1

Has anyone replaced the air filter housing with a pod filter?

I'm a heavy guy and I have a knobby on the rear wheel, which means the tire bottoms out on the airbox. I'm wondering if I can't fix this by removing the airbox and replacing it with a UNI foam "pod" filter. Has anyone attempted this before?

Would it reduce or increase the intake noise that reverbs between the rider and the windshield?

Charles.

Old 02-09-2022, 12:49 PM   #2

I assume you've already maxed out your pre-load on the rear shock?

Old 02-09-2022, 05:52 PM   #3

Yup. It's fine for the street, but not so much for off-road.

Charles.

Old 02-09-2022, 05:59 PM   #4

I have no experience with this particular bike but plenty of others and of cone filter conversions; intake noise is the least of your problems as it will totally throw off your fueling. It CAN be made to work but expect a lot of fiddling with your carb settings, needle positioning, main and idle jetting changes etc
Ex:Bashan BS200-S7 `07 Streetfighter-quad

Old 02-09-2022, 07:14 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddball Matt View Post
I have no experience with this particular bike but plenty of others and of cone filter conversions; intake noise is the least of your problems as it will totally throw off your fueling. It CAN be made to work but expect a lot of fiddling with your carb settings, needle positioning, main and idle jetting changes etc
No need for any of that with the RX3, since it's fuel injected.

Old 02-10-2022, 05:12 PM   #6

I have the same problem as you charlie, that's why I ordered this shock and will see if it will come on, because I don't see any other solution.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amor.jpg (110.9 KB, 313 views)

Old 02-11-2022, 03:31 AM   #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Working_ZS View Post