Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-09-2011, 06:56 PM   #1

Send a message via MSN to DigitalRemix Send a message via Yahoo to DigitalRemix
TaoTao 250D Help

Hi,

I have a TaoTao 250D that we bought and its had its ups and downs, I've been researching alot and I'd like to know if changing the amount of teeth on the front sprocket would make a difference? Because our chain keeps popping off and It doesnt feel like it has alot of torque.... Im new to ATV's so please bear with me.... I'd like to know how I can get a little more power and fix the sprocket problem also.... Someone on another forum said that they used a 13 tooth sprocket but Im scared to buy one because I want to make sure its compatible with my ATV.... Also how many links on a new chain should I get for the new sprocket? 118 or 120? Thanks... :?

Old 04-09-2011, 09:08 PM   #2

Welcome. I don't really know your ATV, but others here have the same model.

Typically to get "more power" by changing sprockes you want to install a smaller front sprocket and/or a larger rear.

Chain problems are common. Usually from a worn out stock chain. The stock chains are not the best quality. Invest in a good name brand chain. Not sure what size sprocket it has on the front, but it feels to low takeoff then dropping 1-2 teeth should make a difference.

Old 04-09-2011, 10:12 PM   #3

if you can take the chain off and go take it to a motorcycle shop or a dealership that sells motorcycles or dirtbikes and atv's.. they will tell you exactly what size and how many links..