Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > General > New Member Introductions
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2008, 10:43 PM   #1

Georgia on my mind

Hello everyone!

As you can see, I'm new around here. I posted a couple of times in another thread, but thought it best to post here for an "official" hello...to keep it out of the other threads.

I am just south of Atlanta, but I enjoy camping (and plan to ride) in the mountains of N.C. just north of the state line...in the Blue Valley/Highlands area.

A little background on myself - I started riding, like most, as a kid. I had a Honda CT 90 until I destroyed the engine trying to do things I shouldn't. I didn't ride again until my early 20's when I picked up another small Honda (185) for the street. I quickly moved up to a Kawasaki EL 250 (my avatar), and then on to a Suzuki GS500E.

During this time I started working at a local shop where I learned a wealth of information about scooters of all sizes. We had a nice inventory of used bkes for sale, a massive "bone yard" in the back with bikes in various stages of disrepair, and a service shop run by "Rapid Rob", who was also building drag bikes for various riders trying to beat those of Star Racing.

I mostly worked in the warehouse sorting used parts for resale, but I did get to ride just about everything we sold...from 50cc scooters to a full dresser Gold Wing (w/ reverse!)...and before I left I had begun to work on an empty lift in the service shop, stripping the bikes that weren't going to be repaired. The parts were stored in the warehouse and the frame moved to bone yard.

Eventually, I moved on to other things. I bore easily. My Suzuki started having problems...one thing led to another and I was driving a car once again. Life throws a few more curve balls my way, and before I know it, 12 years have passed and I am determined to ride again. But what?