Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pure Dirt
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-17-2006, 09:53 AM   #1

Race ready???

With the arrival of bikes like the Roketa DB-36A, a perimeter framed 250cc, do ya'll think the Chinese have a weapon for eastern style woods racing? Here in Kentucky we have MX and Hare Scrambles. From the looks of the bike I don't think they have an MX competitive bike but the woods are a different beast. I also don't think these bikes would have the shear hp to run Baja. But geared for low end grunt to get thru the sticky stuff I'm thinkin I could be on to something. Also consider that I am far from a Pro class rider and would be perpetually be stuck in the beginner class were it not for the generosity of the organizers and my age.

If they could be made to work these bikes could open woods racing to a whole bunch of folks.

Thanks in advance for your responses.
"F"

Old 12-17-2006, 11:33 AM   #2

I've not seen one of these bikes in person, but I think they would be a little heavy for competition -- and remember in woods racing they will be running against 250 2 strokes, the weapon of choice for many -- lighter, cheaper/easier to maintain, etc. (woods racing is still true displacement)

Also, they will need fully adjustable suspension and full size tires before being considered by harescramble enthusiasts. Still nothing would be stopping you from racing it if you wanted to.

My little 150 Hensim is a blast in the woods, and I could race it if I wanted... however I could not win on it, but I would not be last -- that's mostly because of the rider and not really the bike though. Personally I think these bikes are excellent choices for liesure woods riding. Don't get me wrong - I just hammered my Hensim pretty much non-stop for over 3 hours in the woods yesterday... and I mean hard... so it (at least so far) seems to be able to take the abuse.