Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pure Dirt
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-21-2010, 03:26 PM   #1

New gio x35 keeps stalling...Help!

Help! Just bought an x35 Friday. Took it out Saturday and can't keep it from stalling. At first it only happened when I reached high acceleration but after a while it barely stays running. Once it stalls I have to wait a minute for it to start again and the problem begins all over. What do I do? I'm no mechanic.

Old 11-21-2010, 03:39 PM   #2

Tank not venting?

Old 11-21-2010, 03:49 PM   #3

Does the choke seem to be working ok? Did you buy it from a dealer already assembled or get it off the auction and put it together yourself?

Old 11-21-2010, 04:22 PM   #4

Since it will restart after waiting a minute, I'd be inclined to check the fuel cap, like Kato says. Is there a short vent hose on top of the fuel cap? If so, try removing it and see if the problem goes away. Be careful, because gas might squirt out of the hose. I just use a length of vacuum hose and direct it into the steering stem.

If that doesn't fix it, does the choke have multiple settings? Does it make any difference where the choke is positioned when you have trouble?

BTW, it doesn't matter what the plug says on it, I'd promptly change it for an NGK from Canadian Tire. Several of the plugs in China bikes have been fakes.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 11-21-2010, 04:22 PM   #5

Hoe would I know if the tank isn't venting? I bought it assembled. I am out on it now and I tried turning the carb adjustment screw on the right side. Seemed to improve slightly but the problem is still happening. I think I am going to tinker more with the idle screw. Any suggestions?

Old 11-21-2010, 04:25 PM   #6

Ill try the gas tank cap hose now. The choke seems to be working.

Old 11-21-2010, 04:31 PM   #7