Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Adventure Bikes > Zongshen RX3
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-19-2021, 01:07 PM   #1

Adjusting valves today.

Well at close to 3,500 miles I figured I would give them valves a check. First owner did the first 500 mile check. All seemed good for my first time doing this. Intakes were good ...Exhaust was slightly tighter so I adjusted them slightly. I have them to the .006 -.008 spec. This is my first time doing this so I am putting it back together and test ride time. I didn't pull the gas tank just in bolted and lifted aside. Also I unbolted the abs and pushed it out of the way to gain access to the exhaust valve cover. Otherwise I follwed the instructions per CSC site.

Old 05-19-2021, 02:04 PM   #2

Good for you! I've got it down to a three hour affair, but it started off taking me all frikkin' day. Figured out I could leave the right side plastic and radiator installed and still gain access to the exhaust valves from the left side. I still remove the tank, though. It's just one quick-release clip and I always have a little cap ready, so I spill less than a tablespoon of fuel. I tried the tank balancing act and it took more time and I was always afraid of denting or scratching it.

Charles.

Old 05-19-2021, 06:01 PM   #3

I figure the more I learn to do on these bikes Now the better off Also replaced the coolant return hose from the bottle. Looked like it was ready to crack soon. Put 60 miles on almost felt like a bit more power. I don't know I didn't adjust them much. I get a random engine kill at idle once in a while not sure why. Other then that runs great. Time to put more miles on and try to find some gravel roads

Old 05-19-2021, 09:35 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SGCSCRX3 View Post