Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-11-2021, 08:32 PM   #1

WTF Newbie who just ordered a Magician - help me get to 65mph comfortably

Hey everyone, newbie here

So, I just ordered a Magician from Txpowersports and I'll have it in about 2 months (I think) because it's back ordered. I want to use the bike as a commuter bike that will be on the highway sometimes. I want to be able to keep up with traffic without making it scream the while time. I have about a 15 mile one way trip. I don't plan on taking it off road at all, so permanent mods are okay. Any help will be useful. Thanks for the help! Very excited to get the bike

Old 08-11-2021, 08:41 PM   #2

I guess you are going to want to gear it up . Larger front sprocket if possible will be easiest, and cheapest. If it comes with a 15 tooth, then a 17 tooth will get you some speed at the expense of acceleration. You should plan on jetting the carb regardless of gearing.

Old 08-11-2021, 10:31 PM   #3

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but better sooner than later as far as top speed goes you are not likely to see 65 mph at WOT even with heavy modifications let alone as a sustained highway speed. If you really need to sustain 65 mph, you may want to consider a different bike. I am talking from experience, I have a Magician.

Old 08-12-2021, 05:28 AM   #4

So what are the average speeds I will be able to get!? I'm 5'4" 160#. Is 55mph more easily achieved?

Old 08-12-2021, 09:06 AM   #5

My bike will do 55 but is buzzy. Look at this thread.

http://www.chinariders.net/showthrea...nce#post362405

Old 08-12-2021, 10:34 AM   #6

Are these bikes so slow because of small diameter tires ? I figured they were marketed to be a cheaper, and better option for riders who needed less seat height, but would still be able to keep up with other bikes using the Chonda CG 250.

Old 08-12-2021, 10:49 AM   #7