Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-01-2022, 09:28 AM   #1

110cc Engine Slamming, wont start

Hello! I am new to rebuilding ATV's and I'm on my third one with these Chinese 110cc's with my kids. I have a current one that is stumping me if anyone can help....

I bought one from a guy who says the Stator caught fire, and then he disassembled it. I bought it with the engine emptied of oil and sitting in a bucket (inside).

I have since tore it apart, cleaned it out, all new gaskets, and then put it back together making sure timing was correct.

I assembled the ATV with new battery, new stator, all new wiring, new starter, new spark plug, new oil, new carb, new gas tank.

When I go to start the engine, I get spark and it turns over, but there is a loud slam from the engine (sounds like metal grinding maybe?) and the engine kicks once, then goes back to just turning over. Every time I press the starter it does this kick/slam/grinding once and then keeps turning over.

I can't find anything online helpful, and since I don't have a lot of engine experience I'm not sure what to think or what to do next. Can anyone offer some advice?

Old 04-01-2022, 10:03 AM   #2

It’s pretty hard to diagnose any sound going by someone’s written description ,you might want to make a YouTube video of the problems .

Old 04-01-2022, 10:14 AM   #3

Good point, here's a video:

Old 04-01-2022, 10:21 AM   #4

Transmission or clutch assembly error?

I saw that chain kick when it stalled.

I mean, you can crank it, without the wheels turning, but once it starts to turn a real RPM, it looks like the chain is engaging for a split second. That’s definitely down to transmission or clutch in my opinion. Probably clutch.

Old 04-01-2022, 10:27 AM   #5