Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2007, 08:28 AM   #1

cruising speed?

Hello All,

I'm a newbie, not only to this forum but to motorcycling. I haven't bought my first bike yet and I'm trying to do as much research as I can before I do. I was hoping I could get some straight up honest answers about these bikes and who better then the people that ride them.
SO here goes, I am a heavier guy( 215 Lbs) and I was wondering if these bike , especially the Zongshen Sierra 200 and UM SMF-200, can be ridden by me at a comfortable cruising speed of 50 MPH, after break-in ofcourse?
I'd probably being cruising at this speed for about an hour, can it be done, or am I asking to much from the machine? If either one of the bike could do it, do I need to get different sprocket sizes? Any info you guys can provide would be very helpful. Thanks

Old 01-05-2007, 08:54 AM   #2

My Lifan 200GY-2 cruises fine at 50mph (~80kph). I'm 6'3" and 205lbs. It all depends on the stock gearing (read: front/rear sprocket ratio). 65mph is really stretching it for me and I wouldn't want to run very long at this speed.

Mine has a 17 tooth front and a 46 tooth rear. Some of the China bikes come geared much lower from the factory. I would check on your gearing; you may need to change to cruise comfortably at 50pmh.

"The beatings will continue until moral improves"

Old 01-05-2007, 08:55 AM   #3

Hi spanks100