Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-12-2017, 06:33 PM   #1

Head Scratching Hawk 250 carb tuning problems, please help

Ok so today I ventured into the world of carb tuning. Bare in mind with me that I've never worked on a carb before.

So I watched several videos before beginning. I wanted to go in with as much knowledge on what I'm doing as possible. I probably watched 15 videos on the subject including motocheez (who's quickly becoming my idol when it comes to information about this bike).

On to the job at hand.

I get the carb off without problem, I'm experienced at working on cars and turning a wrench. I take apart the housing where the throttle cable goes in and quickly take it apart, I got two washers on that needle just like motocheez said. I get the cable and spring connected to the black piece again without much problem, so far, I'm doing well.

Next I grab my dremel since this is going good I'm feeling good, I notch out the three screws... perfect. The housing comes off and I see the main key sitting there ready to be replaced. I unscrew it and, first problem I ran into, it doesn't look like the jet I bough! Watch a few more videos and realize the jet is two piece, I have to remove just the head and replace it. Phew! Got it. Now, that pesky idol screw under the little plastic cap. After picking at it unsuccessfully for 15 minutes I grabbed my drill and a tiny bit, screwed i to the plastic a bit and pulled, it popped right out. I didn't pay attention to where it was but I put it all the way in, then backed it out 1 1/2 turns.

Then I put it all back together. Easy Peazy. I'm excited about how well it went I enjoyed a nice victory cigar. As it turns out. The celebration came to early.