Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Adventure Bikes > Zongshen RX3
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2015, 01:45 PM   #1
katflap   katflap is offline
 
katflap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: England
Posts: 378
Working With Diagnostic Data Cable & Software

LINK UPDATE (1/11/16)

https://mega.nz/#!1kA1XKaB!dK381cApQ...itggPdL8kOMcvs


use "download through browser"

This is an all in one download that includes

PCHUD with instructions

"Clear fault codes" software with instructions

A guide to making your own data connection using a vag com cable

and other info

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Requirements
----------------

1/
Data Cable
Name:  cablejpg.jpg
Views: 943
Size:  61.1 KB

Taobao link

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=39520023502

so far the only one known to work


2/
PC or laptop running Win7 (32bit), Tested

May work with other O.S. NOT 64bit

----------------------------------------------

The diagnostic software comes indirectly with the cable. If this is not the case, below is a link to the software I received (PCHUD)

https://mega.co.nz/#!skACACIT!Kv8o9g...KYCK-q08TiBUs8

The software is in Chinese, below is a link, in the download are files and instructions translated in to English. I will go in to more detail of these files further on in this post

https://mega.co.nz/#!wwgkDAwR!QzhC2n...cYKva96H8_KMuY


Installing USB drivers and running software
-------------------------------------------------

The translated instructions included in my link should do the trick, so i will only write an overview here.

The setup.exe for the USB drivers can be found in the "USB数据线驱动程序及安装指南" folder

Run the setup without the cable connected to your laptop

No installation is required for the PCHUD software

The folder "德尔福电脑检测软件(PCHud_Chinese)" needs to be renamed to PCHUD, then just place the folder in the root of the harddrive .

I used D:\ as described in the instructions, but probably would work else where if you edit the pchud.ini

Check the pchud.ini anyway to make sure the directory entries are correct.

---------------

Launch and experiment with the software without anything connected (run hud.exe)

The important data to load is the .par file, this holds all the parameter data. The VARI54CN.PAR file

is the one that you can see being used in the Delphi Scan Tool Manual (included in my download).

Unfortunately the VARI54CN.PAR is in chinese but i have done my best at translating it (3.par)

The .hud files are user configuration files for the gauges. You are able to create new ones from within the program.

so to get you started use -

3.hud with 3.par

or

1.hud with 1.par ( slightly different translation of VARI54CN.PAR)

Translating or editing of .par files yourself i will cover in a later post, but i have included a hex/text editor that will be required in my download)

----------------------------------------------------------

The Chinese TR125 (QJ125GY-16A) uses the Delphi MT05 , i have included the EFI section of the manual in my download.

The images show them using the MT05common.PAR as their parameter file.

For this use 2.hud with 2.par (slight variation on the MT05common.PAR)

----------------------------------------------------------

connecting up
---------------

with ignition off plug the cable into the bike, USB to laptop and run PCHUD.

make sure comports are configured, bike kill switch is to "run" turn on ignition.

"com time out error " should go after a short while, if not start engine and all should be good







apologies for the length of, post now completed



Login or Register to Remove Ads

Last edited by katflap; 11-01-2016 at 03:19 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 03:00 PM   #2
SpudRider   SpudRider is offline
Moderator
 
SpudRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 25,054
Thanks for posting this excellent thread, Kat.

My fifth order with Taobao is ready for shipment, but I am delaying it, because I am adding this cable to my order.
__________________
Spud

"Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level, and beat you with experience." Mark Twain

2015 Zongshen ZS250GY-3 (RX3)
2006 Zongshen ZS200GY-2 (Sierra 200)
2005 Honda XR650L
2004 Honda CRF250X
1998 Kawasaki KDX220

Mods made to my Zongshen ZS200GY-2: http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=6894
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 03:28 PM   #3
katflap   katflap is offline
 
katflap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: England
Posts: 378
Thanks Spud,

I'm still adding more stuff to my first post over the next few hours, fitting it in around other things i have to do, will mark it as completed when done

I also added the cable to an existing order, the agent received the cable very quickly, so in the end it was waiting on components to arrive for my existing order that held up the shipment.

I had 2 orders shipped at nearly the same time, this one got through, the other got caught in customs. so i will have to pay duty on that one
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 04:50 PM   #4
katflap   katflap is offline
 
katflap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: England
Posts: 378
Translating,Editing .par files

Open the .par file with M.S. Word , select other encoding Chinese simplified(EUC).
From here you can translate by copying in to google translate.

For editing ( software provided in 1st post download)

Open .par file , in the right hand column you will see sections of code strings.

select view, character set, International, Chinese simplified so you can match the chinese characters .

Note the start point , change back to ACSll and edit

TIP - 00 in the left hex column = nothing.

** this all takes forever to do**

If your editing one of my .par files , they are already in English.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 05:21 PM   #5
katflap   katflap is offline
 
katflap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: England
Posts: 378
Simulating A Fault

I disconnected the O2 sensor to see what would happen.

as you can see in the pic it displayed that the fault light was on and recorded at fault number of 49.

This means from the table a P0031 fault, Oxygen sensor Heater high voltage.

Not quite what I was expecting but at least it was the right component

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 05:52 PM   #6
rjmorel   rjmorel is offline
 
rjmorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warshington
Posts: 710
As a total nube what does this do for me and the bike? Is it for going in and changing parameters to make it a BMW or KTM? ) Need a 101 wannabe geek coarse for changing any of it. How and why? The rest of the mechanical things I can screw up all by myself. rj
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 07:10 PM   #7
katflap   katflap is offline
 
katflap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: England
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmorel View Post
As a total nube what does this do for me and the bike? Is it for going in and changing parameters to make it a BMW or KTM? ) Need a 101 wannabe geek coarse for changing any of it. How and why? The rest of the mechanical things I can screw up all by myself. rj
It can be used as an aid for diagnosing faults and monitoring your electronic fuel injection system. This is what I'm interested in

The ability for changing parameters which will effect the way your bike runs is yet unknown.

The parameters I have mentioned in my posts are only related to the diagnostic software (PCHUD) on your PC so that it understands the data it is being feed from the bike.

Also its well cheap
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 07:23 PM   #8
SpudRider   SpudRider is offline
Moderator
 
SpudRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 25,054
You are certainly going to get more data from a computer than you will from an OBD2 scanner.
__________________
Spud

"Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level, and beat you with experience." Mark Twain

2015 Zongshen ZS250GY-3 (RX3)
2006 Zongshen ZS200GY-2 (Sierra 200)
2005 Honda XR650L
2004 Honda CRF250X
1998 Kawasaki KDX220

Mods made to my Zongshen ZS200GY-2: http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=6894
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:24 AM   #9
Weldangrind   Weldangrind is offline
Moderator
 
Weldangrind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Posts: 24,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by katflap View Post
apologies for the length of, post now completed
What???

Don't apologize for an awesome contribution like that! You're the man.
__________________
Weldangrind

KEEP
CALM
AND
RIDE A
ZONG
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:30 AM   #10
SpudRider   SpudRider is offline
Moderator
 
SpudRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 25,054
He's not the Grand Poobah for nothing.

__________________
Spud

"Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level, and beat you with experience." Mark Twain

2015 Zongshen ZS250GY-3 (RX3)
2006 Zongshen ZS200GY-2 (Sierra 200)
2005 Honda XR650L
2004 Honda CRF250X
1998 Kawasaki KDX220

Mods made to my Zongshen ZS200GY-2: http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=6894
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:40 AM   #11
Weldangrind   Weldangrind is offline
Moderator
 
Weldangrind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Posts: 24,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmorel View Post
As a total nube what does this do for me and the bike? Is it for going in and changing parameters to make it a BMW or KTM? ) Need a 101 wannabe geek coarse for changing any of it. How and why? The rest of the mechanical things I can screw up all by myself. rj
Not that this is apples to apples, but I have a wifi OBDII connector in my truck, and I can access it with a free app on my iPhone. It allows me to choose from several monitoring options, and I'm most interested in temperature.

The gauge in my truck is somewhat vague, and it's in Metric. I still think in Fahrenheit when it comes to cars, and I like to know what my engine is doing when I'm towing my holiday trailer.

The connector and software for an RX3 will allow you to pinpoint trouble down the road, because it will tell you if you have a faulty throttle position sensor, oxygen sensor or whatever else. A very wise tool investment.
__________________
Weldangrind

KEEP
CALM
AND
RIDE A
ZONG
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 06:46 AM   #12
humanbeing   humanbeing is online now
 
humanbeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,945
VW cable (twenty-odd yuan) mod :http://www.chyangwa.net/forum.php?mo...uthorid=652893
__________________

Last edited by humanbeing; 04-21-2016 at 10:39 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 07:16 AM   #13
pete   pete is online now
 
pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,463
On the XT660 the fault code is displayed on the dash automaticly once a fault is detected.
you instantly know what bit just stuffed up yer day....
Dose the RX3 do the same?

you can change some of the injection setting from the dash in dialoge mode...
TPS / CO etc




.
__________________
09 XT660R ...
06 TTR250 ...
03 CRF150F ...
81 Honda CT110...
80 Montesa H6 125 Enduro...
77 Montesa Cota 348 MRR "Malcom Rathnell Replica"...

11 Husaburg TE125 enduro... "sold" along with another 31...
Lifan 125 Pitbike.. "stolen" ...

KIWI BIKER FORUM...... http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/content.php

All the best offroad rides in NZ...
http://www.remotemoto.com/
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 08:06 AM   #14
JTHSPACE   JTHSPACE is offline
 
JTHSPACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weldangrind View Post
The gauge in my truck is somewhat vague, and it's in Metric. I still think in Fahrenheit when it comes to cars, and I like to know what my engine is doing when I'm towing my holiday trailer.
My Nissan Juke (built in the UK!) has an option in the settings to change between MPH/KPH C/F Miles per Gallon / Litres per Kilometer etc.

Maybe an option buried somewhere deep in the OBC?
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Riding bikes for over 40 years
Honda C50 / SS50 / CB125 / CB250
Velocettes (various)
Piaggio's / Honda's / Yamaha's
Raptor . . . . the List Goes On . . . .
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 12:24 PM   #15
Weldangrind   Weldangrind is offline
Moderator
 
Weldangrind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Posts: 24,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTHSPACE View Post
My Nissan Juke (built in the UK!) has an option in the settings to change between MPH/KPH C/F Miles per Gallon / Litres per Kilometer etc.

Maybe an option buried somewhere deep in the OBC?
Nope. Old '99 GMC truck with analogue gauges. Not the fancy modern type.
__________________
Weldangrind

KEEP
CALM
AND
RIDE A
ZONG
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.