Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-28-2020, 07:33 AM   #1

Big Boy TSR250 vs Puzey STX 200 Trail

Hello,

Can anyone tell me anything about the Big Boy TSR250 or the Puzey STX 200 Trail?

I'm a missionary in Lesotho looking for a dual sport, street legal motorcycle. My budget is limited to the price range of these two bikes unless I buy something used. I hear the quality of the Chinese bikes is improving and I'm thinking it's worth a risk after reading this forum, etc. I'm a shade-tree mechanic used to keeping worn-out vehicles on the road, so I'm not afraid of turning a wrench.

I'm especially interested in reliability, availability of parts, etc. Also, who makes the motors. I've seen videos, etc. on the internet of a guy who has put quite a few kilometers on a TSR 250, and I like their 3 year warranty.

https://www.samotorcycles.co.za/products/tsr250/1294
http://www.puzey.co.za/modelPages/puzeySTX200Trail.html

I'm also open to other recommendations. I'm looking for a dual sport and 200cc+.

Thank you.

Old 01-28-2020, 08:44 AM   #2

The Big Boy looks like a Brozz, solid build quality, parts are cheap and easy to find online.China has been making CB and CG clones for some time now. They are pretty solid.
1991 Voyager XII

Old 01-28-2020, 11:29 AM   #3

Pardon the ignorance. You mentioned the CB and CG clones. Is that Honda?

Thanks for the reply.

Old 01-28-2020, 11:36 AM   #4

CB is an overhead cam engine, while the CG is a pushrod engine. The CG has the reliability you're seeking at a low price. Search for CG125 on Wikipedia to learn the back story.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 01-28-2020, 12:17 PM   #5

Ahh! Thanks!

Old 01-28-2020, 05:29 PM   #6