Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Other Brands
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2013, 09:00 AM   #1

KLX wont start now..

Hey guys, im hoping I can get some advice on my bike. Yesterday it ran and it got really cold last night. Im still a newbie to motorcycles and pulled the choke out to try to get it to start, Now its not even kicking over at all.Im wondering if maybe it could be my battery that is dead. Its not making an noise. is there a way to test the battery? Can I pop start it?? DOC??Please help I just got it and want to get it fired up and I vam ride with my new knobbies. Thank u all for our help..

Old 11-15-2013, 10:08 AM   #2

Do you have a multimeter? If not, you need one. Get a cheap digital multimeter at Harbor Freight; they're often free with a $10 purchase.

Set the meter to DC volts and measure the battery. I suspect that it's dead.

You might be able to bump start the bike. Turn on the key and the kill switch, get it rolling at a good pace, hop on and kick it up into second and dump the clutch. It should fire up if there is any power in the battery at all.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 11-15-2013, 10:54 AM   #3

Thank you, so far i found one of those multimeter at advance auto for $20. Harbor frieght is 1 hour away. I might even check out Napa to see what they got. It did the noise it does when the battery is dead and hopefully thats all it if.That ticking sound Now i go to turn it over and nothing happens , no not ticking noise . My lights come on my dash though. I just got my new tires for the bike and cant wait to test them.

Old 11-15-2013, 11:10 AM   #4