Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2010, 01:16 PM   #1

hello riders. i live in fort lauderdale, florida. just got my brand new zong sierra 200 today. very nice bike. i have a question: when i start the bike, the idle seems fine, once it warms up the idle goes very high. i haven't done anything to it yet. i am new to motorcycling. this is my first bike. any suggestions? thanks in advance for any suggestions!
cloudrider~

Old 04-23-2010, 01:25 PM   #2

Welcome aboard.

Can the choke/fast idle circut be sticking on?

Old 04-23-2010, 01:33 PM   #3

Welcome.

Sounds like a possible choke issue. Go ahead on post it in the dual sport forum.

Allen

Old 04-23-2010, 01:42 PM   #4

Welcome.
Typically these bikes will idle faster when warmed up than they do when cold. My bike wont idle when cold but settles down nicely when warmed up.
Try setting the idle speed after the bike has been ridden for a few minutes.

Old 04-23-2010, 03:22 PM   #5

well, this may come to show you how new i am to motorcycling: :oops: i think i was riding with the choke on the ON position instead of the OFF position. it looks like to turn the choke OFF you need to turn the wheel towards you but i guess now that is the ON position. OFF is when you turn it away from you. can anybody confirm this? also, the belt seems to be bouncing against the plastic cover while i ride. is that normal?
thanks again!
c~

Old 04-23-2010, 03:26 PM   #6

Welcome to the forums... Tons of excellent info on Zongs here, I'm sure someone will be able to help you out Sounds like you are talking about the chain hitting the guard? I don't have a Zong, but I'm sure someone who does can give you a step by step on tensioning the drive chain.

Old 04-23-2010, 03:43 PM   #7

Welcome! You might be a tad overwhelmed at the Zong info coming your way, but it's always good knowledge!

Old 04-24-2010, 12:06 AM   #8

Quote: