Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-06-2011, 01:52 PM   #1

Daymak 250cc no power

Hi all,

I've just gotten into the ATV game. I recently purchased a Gio Rebel T3 and T2 and love them. My purchases inspired my brother to go searching for his own china atv and came across a Daymak 250cc. It is heavily used but he got it for a really cheap price with the "promise" that it runs, but just has a dead battery.

I have some wrenching knowledge as a car guy, but not much for bikes/atvs.

My main questions are, we tried putting the battery from my 200cc Rebel in his Daymak and it wouldn't even power on, when I tried to jump the start it would just spin. Which on a car either means the starter is jammed or isn't getting enough amps to pop the solenoid, right? Is it possible that the gio battery just isn't strong enough to power the starter for this MUCH larger atv?

Secondly, this thing is in shambles. It looks to be water cooled, which was a complication I was telling him to avoid. There are two hose connectors comming off the right(facing forward) front of the engine case, one points towards the front of the bike, one points to the sky. They look like they could have been connections for coolant tubes, but there are no tubes to be found and no extra places to hook up to that I can see. Anyone know anything about these? (Please tell me they're just vacuum or something)

Thanks in advance!

Old 12-06-2011, 07:20 PM   #2

Welcome! Anybody who is skilled at working on a 2M4 will find China atv's to be cake!