Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > General > New Member Introductions
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-03-2017, 07:00 PM   #1

New to Chinese bikes, trying to figure out what I have.

Hello, my name is John. I'm new to Chinese bike ownership, but not new to motorcycles, I have experience as a big four Japanese mechanic, primarily Honda, but also experience with Harley, Triumph, Aprilia, and Moto Guzzi bikes.

I'm going to be living overseas as a mechanic for a missions organization in Africa, so I figured that it'd be good to familiarize myself with Chinese bikes, as in the country I'll be in, they make up the lion's share of all motorcycles, which make up the majority of all vehicles.

The motorcycle that I picked up is a dirt bike, but it has several interesting features that make me wonder what exactly the model is. It has 19" front and 16" rear wheels, geared 15/54, discs front and rear, mono shock suspension (but with a cotter pin (!) holding the rear shock on), USD forks, and a ZS167FML motor, but it's not the Yamaha copy, it's definitely a CG clone (I'm wondering if Zongshen's pushrod '167' is actually a 163?). It also has nearly GP shift, except that Neutral is at the top, and 1-5 are down from there. It also has a sprung, two pulley drivechain tensioner, and there is no ignition key.

It also has some of the poorest welds that I've ever seen, and though it is a dirt bike, the motor is a stressed member; I'm thinking about scrapping the chassis and putting the motor into an early XR200 chassis, possibly with a front end swap. The chassis is also extremely heavy for the size, and everything, including the rims, are steel. It is all black, with nary a decal in sight, and the vin starts with LRY... Any help would be appreciated! Also, it doesn't have spark, but I'm pretty sure that I can handle that problem!

Last edited by franque; 11-03-2017 at 07:31 PM. Reason: I forgot to add a thing or two.

Old 11-03-2017, 08:05 PM   #2

Greetings!